Great Seal of the United States National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States

About the Commission

The National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States, an independent, bipartisan commission created by congressional legislation and the signature of President George W. Bush in late 2002, is chartered to prepare a full and complete account of the circumstances surrounding the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, including preparedness for and the immediate response to the attacks. The Commission is also mandated to provide recommendations designed to guard against future attacks.

  • Public Law 107-306  [HTML] [PDF]
  • Public Law 108-207, Extension of National Commission on Terrorist Attacks upon the United States  [PDF]
  • Excerpt, Public Law 107-306, Titles I and VI - Establishing the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States   [HTML] [PDF]
  • Statement by President George W. Bush - November 27, 2002   [HTML]

Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently asked questions about the Commission, our work, and our report.


The Commission periodically held public hearings to offer a public dialogue about the Commission's goals and priorities. The Commission also sought to learn about work already completed and the state of current knowledge, in order to identify the most important issues and questions requiring further investigation.

Commissioners and Personnel

Current News

The Commission has released its final report. [more]

The Chair and Vice Chair have released a statement regarding the Commission's closing. [more]

The Commission closed August 21, 2004. [more]

Commission Members

Thomas H. Kean

Lee H. Hamilton
Vice Chair

Richard Ben-Veniste
Fred F. Fielding
Jamie S. Gorelick
Slade Gorton
Bob Kerrey
John F. Lehman
Timothy J. Roemer
James R. Thompson

Commission Staff

Philip D. Zelikow
Executive Director

Chris Kojm
Deputy Executive Director

Daniel Marcus
General Counsel